Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

SPEECH AND RHETORIC

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Speech and Rhetoric.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

E-Books

American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms

Charles W. Chesnutt : Essays and Speeches

How to Present At Meetings

Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States from George Washington to Bill Clinton

Languages of Business: An International Perspective

Lift Every Voice: African American Oratory, 1787-1900

Lost Art of the Great Speech : How to Write It, How to Deliver It

Mastering Public Speaking: How to Prepare and Deliver Winning Presentations and Successful Speeches

Presentation Skills Workshop: Helping People Create and Deliver Great Presentations

Say It Like Shakespeare: How to Give a Speech Like Hamlet, Persuade Like Henry V, and Other Secrets From the World's Greatest Communicator

Secrets of Power Presentations : Overcome Your Fear of Public Speaking, Build Rapport and Credibility With Your Audience, Prepare and Deliver a Dynamic Presentation

Telling the Success Story : Acclaiming and Disclaiming Discourse

 

(In the General Collection books on Rhetoric are cataloged under 808)

Periodicals (Print)

Quarterly Journal of Speech
The Speech Teacher
Vital Issues - The Journal of African American Speeches

Periodicals (Electronic)

Look Smart Find Articles
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
NCLive
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Electronic Databases

Look Smart Find Articles
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
NCLive
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

MLA - Modern Language Association

Websites

American Rhetoric
Great American Speeches
Public Speaking Website - Instructional Module
Rhetoric and Composition Resources on the Web
Silva Rhetoricae - The Forest of Classical and Renaissance Rhetoric
Speechtips.com

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000