Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

SOCIAL WORK

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Social Work.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

A Century of Juvenile Justice
Ref 345.73 C33, 2002

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Ref 150.287 C73 2004 (4 vols)

Encyclopedia of Aging
Ref 305.26 En1 2002 (3 vols)

Encyclopedia of American Education
Ref 370.973 Un3e, 2001

Handbook of Family Diversity
Ref 306.85 H19, 2000

Handbook of Gender, Culture, and Health
Ref 613.042 H19, 2000

Health Issues in the Black Community
Ref 362.1 H34, 2001

McMillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
Ref 306.9 M22, 2003 (2 vol)

The Social Worker’s Desk Reference
Ref 361.32 So1, 2002

The 1996 Federal Welfare Reform in North Carolina
Ref 361.609756 D65f, 2002

Welfare Reform: A Reference Handbook
Ref 361.973 H78w

(In the General Collection books on Social Work are cataloged between 361-362)

E-Book

Battered Woman and Shelters : The Social Construction of Wife Abuse

Effective Ways of Working With Children and Their Families. Vol. 35

Elder Abuse Work : Best Practice in Britain and Canada

Family Boundaries : The Invention of Normality & Dangerousness

Going Missing : Young People Absent From Care

Hard-core Delinquents : Reaching Out Through the Miami Experiment

Intergenerational Programs : Support for Children, Youth, and Elders in Japan

Road Winds Uphill All the Way : Gender, Work, and Family in the United States and Japan

Social Work and Human Services Treatment Planner

Staying Out of Trouble in a Troubled Family

Unitas--building Healing Communities for Children

Youth Development and Neighborhood Influences : Challenges and Opportunities : Summary of a Workshop

 

Periodicals (Print)

Families in Society
International Social Science Journal
Journal of Health Education
Journal of Education for Social Work
Social Work
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Research
Social Work Research and Abstracts
World of Work

Periodicals (Electronic)

Critical Social Work

Electronic Databases

Academic Search Premier
CINAHL
CQ Researcher
ERIC Documents

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
InfoMine
Lexis Nexis Academic

Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books
PsychINFO
World Data Analysis
 

Associations

American Public Human Services Association
American Federation of Teachers
Association of Social Work Boards
Council on Social Work Education
Employee Assistance Professionals Association
National Association of Black Social Workers
National Association of Social Workers
National Education Association
North American Association of Christians in Social Work
National Network for Social Work Managers
Society for Social Work Leadership in Health Care

Websites

The Administration of Children and Families
America’s Second Harvest
An Introduction to Social Policy
Brookings Institute
Center for Analysis of Social Exclusion
Center for Social Work Research
Center on Urban Poverty and Social Change
Child Trends
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Children Now
Council on Contemporary Families
The Disabilities Movement
Disabilities Resources Monthly Guide to

Disabilities on the Internet
DisabilityInfo.gov
Domestic Violence Awareness Handbook
Economic Policy Institute
FedStats
The Global Schoolhouse
Infoaging.org

Institute for Research on Poverty
Institute for Women’s Policy Research
Internet Resources on Aging by the AARP
Kids Count
MedlinePlus Mental Health
Mental Health Information Network

National Adoption Information Clearinghouse
National Center for Children in Poverty
National Coalition Against Domestic Violence
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
National Institute on Aging
National Sexual Violence Resource Center
North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board
Smart Library on Urban Poverty
Social Services InfoNet
Social Statistics Briefing Room
Social Work Access
Social Work Search
United States Department of Health and Human Services
Womenshealth.org  
World Wide Resources for Social Workers

 

 

08/17/07


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000