Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

SOCIAL SCIENCE

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Social Science.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Ref 150.287 C73, 2004 (4 vols)

Dictionary of Sociology
Ref 301.03 L44D, 2001

Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy

Encyclopedia of American Prisons

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories

Encyclopedia of Sociology
Ref 301.03 En1, 2004

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Ref 305.4 Eni 2001 (2 vols)

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
Ref 370.196 H19, 2001

International Handbook of Sociology
Ref 301 In8, 2000

Kant Dictionary (Philosophy)

(In the General Collection books on the Social Sciences are in the 300’s)

E-Books

Aaron Wildavsky Forum for Public Policy ; 1

Balance of Power

Behavioral Sciences : Pre-Test Self-assessment and Review

Bridge Over the Racial Divide : Rising Inequality and Coalition Politics

Civil Rights and Social Wrongs : Black-white Relations Since World War II

Data Game : Controversies in Social Science Statistics

Disciplining Reproduction : Modernity, American Life Sciences, and "The Problems of Sex"

Ecstatic Subjects, Utopia, and Recognition : Kristeva, Heidegger, Irigaray

In the Shadow of Race : Growing Up As a Multiethnic, Multicultural, and "Multiracial" American

Interactive Technologies and the Social Studies : Emerging Issues and Applications

International Development and the Social Sciences : Essays On the History and Politics of Knowledge

Internet As a Diverse Community : Cultural, Organizational, and Political Issues

Investing in Research Infrastructure in the Behavioral and Social Sciences

Leading the Race : The Transformation of the Black Elite in the Nation's Capital, 1880-1920

Multicultural Resources On the Internet. The United States and Canada

Multiculturalism : Roots and Realities

Religion and the Human Sciences : An Approach Via Spirituality

Uncertain Sciences

We Mean to Be Counted : White Women & Politics in Antebellum Virginia

Welfare in America : How Social Science Fails the Poor

Who Will Care for Us? : Aging and Long-term Care in Multicultural America

Woodcutters and Witchcraft : Rationality and Interpretive Change in the Social Sciences

Working Alliances and the Politics of Difference : Diversity and Feminist Ethics

 

Periodicals (Print)

Annals of Economic and Social Measurement
Brookings Review
Social Studies and the Young Learner
Policy Studies Review
International Social Science Journal
Political Research Quarterly
Social Progress
Social Education
Sociological Inquiry
Urban Life
The Western Journal of Black Studies

Periodicals (Electronic)

ACME: An International E-Journal for Critical Geographies
African Studies Quarterly: the online journal of African studies
Ambiente & sociedade
Dados - Revista de Ciências Sociais
Electronic Journal of Radical Organisation Theory
Electronic Journal of Sociology
ERCES Online Quarterly Review
Forum: Qualitative Social Research
International Journal of Qualitative Methods
Journal of artificial societies and social simulation
The Journal of Eurasian Research
Journal of Virtual Environments
Jouvert: a Journal of Postcolonial Studies
Peace Economics, Peace Science and Public Policy
PRism
Psicologia & Sociedade
Qualitative Report
Social Research Update
Sociological Research Online
World of Work - Magazine of the ILO

Electronic Databases

Accesscience
FindArticles
Jstor
NCLive
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

American Historical Association
Association of Muslim Social Scientists
Consortium of Social Science Associations
International Association of Social Science Information Service and Technology
National Council for the Social Sciences
Social Science Research Council

Websites

Center for Spatially Integrated Social Science
Data on the Net
FirstGov
Institute for Social Research
Institute for the Study of Social Change
Odum Institute
Research Resources in Social Science
Smart Library on Urban Poverty
Social Science Data Archives-Europe
Social Science Hub
Social Science Information Gateway
Social Science Research Network
Social Science Data Analysis Network
World Wide Virtual Library: Social Science

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000