Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

SOCIOLOGY

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Sociology.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Dictionary of Sociology
Ref 301.03 L44d 2001

Encyclopedia of Sociology
Ref 301.03 En1 2000

Handbook of Family Diversity
Ref 306.85 H19 2000

Handbook of Gender, Culture, and Health
Ref 613.042 H19 2000

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
Ref 370.196 H19 2001

Health Issues in the Black Community
Ref 362.1 H34 2001

International Handbook of Sociology
Ref 301 In8 2000

Medical Anthropology and African American Health
Ref 362.1 B15m 2000

Vital Statistics on American Politics 2001-2002
Ref 320.973 ST2v 2001

(Books in the General Collection on Sociology are cataloged between 300 and 305)

E-Books

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology : A User's Guide to Sociological Language

Classical Sociological Theory : A Reader

Great Jobs for Sociology Majors

Handbook of Communication and People With Disabilities : Research and Application

Mapping Reality : An Evolutionary Realist Methodology for the Natural and Social Sciences

Promise of the City : Space, Identity, and Politics in Contemporary Social Thought

Social and Spatial Ecology of Work : The Case of a Survey Research Organization

Sociology Basics

Sociology Quick Review

 

Periodicals (Print)

American Journal of Sociology
American Sociology Review
Rural Sociology
Social Progress
Urban Life
Sociological Inquiry

Periodicals (Electronic)

Economic Sociology-European Electronic Newsletter
Electronic Journal of Sociology
Journal Of Artificial Societies and Social Simulation
Sociological Research Online

Electronic Databases

FindArticles
JSTOR
Lands and Peoples
NCLive
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books
PsycINFO

Associations

American Sociological Association
Association of Social Work Boards
The British Sociological Association
International Sociological Association
National Association of Social Workers
North Carolina Sociological Association

Websites

Administration on Aging
Center for Spatially Integrated Social Science
Center for the Ethnography of Everyday Life
Data on the Net
Economic Sociology Editorial Series
Globalization
National Institute on Aging
Sociological Research Resources
Sociological Subjects
Sociology Timeline From 1600
A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace
The SocioWeb
Smart Library on Urban Poverty
U.S. Census Bureau: American Community Survey
 

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000