Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

PSYCHOLOGY

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Psychology.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Attention Deficit Disorder Sourcebook
Ref 616.8589 At8, 2002

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Ref 150.287 C73 2004 (4 vols)

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Ref 150.3 C81 2001

Depression Sourcebook
Ref 616.8527 D44, 2002

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Ref 150.3. En1, 2000 (8 Vols.)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
Ref 616.80 G13 2003 (2 Vols)

Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology
Ref 618.9289 H19, 2001

Handbook of Humanistic Psychology
Ref 150.198 H19, 2001

Handbook of Psychology
Ref 150 H19, 2003

Psychology of Physical Activity
Ref 613.71 B47p, 2001

Stress-Related disorders sourcebook
Ref 155.9042. St8, 2002

(In the General Collection Psychology is cataloged under 150-160)

E-Books

50 Ways to Prevent and Manage Stress

A Psychologist's Proactive Guide to Managed Mental Health Care

Adolescent Psychological Development : Rationality, Morality, and Identity

Adult Attachment and Couple Psychotherapy : The 'Secure Base' in Practice and Research

Artful Persuasion : How to Command Attention, Change Minds, and Influence People

Attitudes, Behavior, and Social Context : The Role of Norms and Group Membership

Children, Families and Chronic Disease : Psychological Models and Methods of Care

Clinical Psychologist's Handbook of Epilepsy : Assessment and Management

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science

Developmental Psychology

Essential Psychology for Nurses and Other Health Professionals

Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology

Handbook of Crisis Counseling, Intervention, and Prevention in the Schools

Handbook of the Psychology of Women and Gender

Health Psychology

How People Evaluate Others in Organizations

How People Learn : Brain, Mind, Experience, and School

Key Ideas in Psychology

Language, Thought, and the Brain

Nietzsche and Depth Psychology

Opportunities in Psychology Careers

Orchestration of Joy and Suffering : Understanding Chronic Addiction

Portraits of Pioneers in Psychology. Vol. 4

Psychological Assessment of Abused and Traumatized Children

Psychology and Social Care

Psychology of Human Possibility and Constraint

Psychology of the Future : Lessons From Modern Consciousness Research

Reasoning and Thinking

Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of Introduction to Psychology

Social Psychology of Communication Impairment

Who Is Rational? : Studies of Individual Differences in Reasoning

 

Periodicals (Print)

American Behavioral Scientist
Educational and Psychological Measurement
Journal of Black Psychology
Journal of Counseling Psychology
Journal of Personality
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
Psychological Abstracts
Psychological Methods 
Psychological Review
Psychological Bulletin

Periodicals (Electronic)

Athletic Insight: The Online Journal of Sport Psychology
Australian Journal of Educational & Developmental Psychology
Current Psychology Letters/Behaviour, Brain & Cognition
Current Research in Social Psychology

Dynamical Psychology: an international, interdisciplinary journal of complex mental processes
Electronic Journal of Communicative Psychoanalysis
Evolutionary Psychology: an international journal of evolutionary approaches to psychology and behavior
Journal of Applied Behavioral Analysis
Journal of Articles in Support of the Null Hypothesis
Journal of Online Behavior
Journal of Technology in Counseling
Mental Health: A Report from the Surgeon General
Monitor On Psychology
MPR-online, Methods of Psychological Research
Psicológica
PSYCHE: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Research on Consciousness
Primary Care Companion to the Journal of Clinical Psychiatry
Psychiatric Times
Psycoloquy

Electronic Databases

Access Science
Find Articles
NCLive
PsycINFO
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

American Academy of Psychoanalysis
American Evaluation Association
American Psychoanalytic Association
American Psychological Association
American Psychological Society
American Psychotherapy Association
Association for Death Education and Counseling
Association for Humanistic Psychology
Association of Black Psychologist
National Association of School Psychologists

Websites

Behavior Online
Brain Facts
Classics in the History of Psychology
Cogprints: Self Archived Papers
Explore the Brain and Spinal Chord
Great Ideas in Personality
The Mead Project
Mental Health Info Source Home Page
National Institute of Mental Health
Online Papers on Consciousness
Personality Psychology Links
The Psi Café: a Psychology Resource Site
Psychiatry On-Line
Psycline
Psych Web
Psychexperiments
Psychological Research Centers on the Web
Psychological Research on the Net
Psychology WWW Library
School Psychology Resources Online
Social Science Information Gateway: Psychology

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000