Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

POLITICAL SCIENCE

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Political Science.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Encyclopedia of American Political History
Ref 970.03 En1, 2001

Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
Ref 305.8 En1, 2000

The Europa World Year Book
Ref 910.3 EU7, 2003 (2 Vols)

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
Ref 327.03 N71g, 2002 (4 vols)

International Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Ref 323 M26i, 2000

Legal Systems of the World
Ref 340.03 L52, 2001 (4 vols)

North Carolina Manual 1999-2000
Ref 353.9 N81 2000

Vital Statistics on American Politics 2001-2002
Ref 320.973 ST2v 2001

(In the General Collection books on Political Science are cataloged under 320)

E-Books

A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy

A Philosophical Commentary On the Politics of Aristotle

Affairs of Party: The Political Culture of Northern Democrats in the Mid-nineteenth Century

American Political Thought

Beyond Right and Left: Democratic Elitism in Mosca and Gramsci

Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science : A User's Guide to Its Terms

Conservative Reformers: The Republican Freshmen and the Lessons of the 104th Congress

Democracy, Real and Ideal: Discourse Ethics and Radical Politics

Elements in Political Science

Essays, Moral, Political, and Economic

Great Jobs for Political Science Majors

Hegel's Philosophy of Freedom

History of Government From the Earliest Times. Vol. 1, Ancient Monarchies and Empires

History of Government From the Earliest Times. Vol. 2, The Intermediate Ages

History of Government From the Earliest Times. Vol. 3, Empires, Monarchies and the Modern State

Ideas in Action: Political Tradition in the Twentieth Century

Islam and Politics

Limiting Government: An Introduction to Constitutionalism

Living in Two Cities: Augustinian Trajectories in Political Thought

Machiavelli

One Step From the White House: The Rise and Fall of Senator William F. Knowland

Paul Ricoeur: The Promise and Risk of Politics

Politics. Books V and VI

Reinterpreting the Political: Continental Philosophy and Political Theory

Terms of Labor: Slavery, Serfdom, and Free Labor

The Inclusion of the Other: Studies in Political Theory

The Republic And The Laws

The Scalawag in Alabama Politics, 1865-1881

The Triumph of Campaign-centered Politics

Turning Right in the Sixties: The Conservative Capture of the GOP

Workers' Paradox: The Republican Origins of New Deal Labor Policy, 1886-1935

 

Periodicals (Print)

American Journal of Political Science
American Political Science Review
Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science
Journal of Politics
Political Research Quarterly
Polity
PS, Political Science & Politics

 

Periodicals (Electronic)

American Diplomacy
Bad Subjects: Political Education for Everyday Life
Historic Government Publications from WWII
Multinational Monitor
Monthly Labor Review Online
New Politics

U.S. Congressional Bibliographies

 

Electronic Databases

Bills from the NC General Assembly
Jstor
Lexis Nexis Legal
NCLive
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

 

Associations

African Association of Political Science
American Political Science Association
International Political Science Association

Websites

American Choices: Understanding Foreign Policy Debates
American Civil Liberties Union
American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Background Notes – Factual information about foreign countries

Baker Institute for Public Policy
Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress
Brennan Center for Justice
Cato Institute
Center for American Progress
Center For American Women and Politics
Center for Arts and Culture
Center for Civic Education
Center for International Policy
Center for Public Integrity
Center for Public Leadership
Center for Responsive Politics-Money in US Elections
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation – U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Countries
Comm-org: Community Organizing and Development
Contact Your Senator
Council on Foreign Relations
Crimes of War Project
Economic Policy Institute
Electronic Embassy – Links to foreign embassies in Washington, D.C.
Eur-Lex: the Portal to European Union Law
Europa: Gateway to the European Union
FactCheck.org:Annenberg Political Fact Checker
Find Law
FirstGov
Globalization
Google Government Search
The Heritage Foundation
Democratic National Committee
Inside Politics
Institute of International Studies
International Inter-government Organization – Search for International Organization sites
Legal Information Institute
The Middle East Institute
National Center for Public Policy Research
National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education
National Institute on Aging
National Security Archive
Patterns of Global Terrorism
Public Law and Legal Theory
Republican National Committee
The U.S. Conference of Mayors
Thomas-Legislative Info on the Internet
Working-Paper Sites of Political Science

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000