Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

PHYSICAL EDUCATION

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Physical Education.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Encyclopedia of Public Health
Ref 362.1 En1  2002

Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the United States
Ref 796.089 En1  2000

Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
Ref 613.7 F55  2001

International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports
Ref 796.082 In8  2000 (3 vol)

Handbook of Gender, Culture, and Health
Ref 613.042 H19  2000

Handbook of Sport Psychology
Ref 796.01 H19  2001

Handbook of Sports Studies
Ref  796 H19  2000

Handbook of Sports Studies
Ref 796 H19  2000

Medical Anthropology and African American Health
Ref 362.1 B15m  2000

Mosby’s Medical, Nursing & Allied Health Dictionary
Ref 610.3 M85 2002

Psychology of Physical Activity
Ref 613.71 B47p  2001

Research Methods for Sport Studies
Ref 796.07 G77r  2004

Sports the Complete Visual Reference
Ref 796 F77s  2000

Sports Injuries Sourcebook
Ref 617.1027 Sp6  2002

Women and Health
Ref 616.0082 W84  2000

World of Health
Ref 610 W89  2000

(Books in the General Collection on Sport are cataloged under 796)

E-Books

Critical Postmodernism in Human Movement, Physical Education, and Sport

Developing Personal, Social, and Moral Education Through Physical Education: A Practical Guide for Teachers

Issues in Physical Education

Opportunities in Fitness Careers

Outdoor Athlete: Total Training for Outdoor Performance

Overload, Performance Incompetence, and Regeneration in Sport

Personal Trainer Manual: The Resource for Fitness Professionals

Physical Activity and Health: A Report of the Surgeon General

Understanding Psychological Preparation for Sport: Theory and Practice of Elite Performers

 

Periodicals (Print)

Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly
Journal of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
Journal of Sport and Social Issues
Journal of Sports Economics
Journal of Sports Management
Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness
Physical Educator
Physician and Sportsmedicine
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
Sport Marketing Quarterly
Teaching Elementary Physical Education

Periodicals (Electronic)

The Physician and Sportsmedicine

Electronic Databases

FindArticles
Jstor
NCLive
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

American Academy of Kinesiology and Physical Education
American Alliance for Health Physical Education Recreation and Dance
American Federation of Teachers
International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education
National Center for Health Education
National Education Association

Websites

Amateur Softball Association
American Lung Association
American Youth Soccer Organization
Basketball Highway
FirstGov
National Institute on Aging
New York Online Access to Health
PE Central
PE Links
President’s Council on Physical Fitness and Sports
Runner’s World
Sports Media
Tennis ONE

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000