Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

MILITARY SCIENCE

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Military Science.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Carroll's Military Facilities Directory.
Ref 355.7 C23, 1996

The Harper Encyclopedia of Military History : From 3500 BC to the Present
Ref 355.009 D92h, 1993

 SIPRI Yearbook : World Armaments and Disarmament
Ref 355.033 St6y, 1995

U.S. National Security : a Reference Handbook
Ref 355.033073 W33u, 2002

A World Record of Major Conflict Areas
Ref 909.82 M92w, 1990

 

E-Books

African American Military Heroes

Sun-tzu On the Art of War: The Oldest Military Treatise in the World

Assessing Readiness in Military Women: The Relationship of Body Composition, Nutrition, and Health

ASVAB Core Review: Just What You Need to Get Into the Military

Attracting College-bound Youth Into the Military: Toward the Development of New Recruiting Policy Options

Barriers to Minority Participation in Special Operations Forces

Captives of the Cold War Economy: The Struggle for Defense Conversion in American Communities

A Date With Destiny: The Women in Military Service for America Memorial

A Description of U.S. Enlisted Personnel Promotion Systems

Great Captains of Antiquity:  Contributions in Military Studies

Guide to Military Installations

How to Prepare for the Armed Forces Test--ASVAB, Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery

Military Use of Drugs Not Yet Approved By the FDA for CW/BW Defense: Lessons From the Gulf War

Opportunities in Military Careers

Past Revolutions, Future Transformations: What Can the History of Revolutions in Military Affairs Tell Us About Transforming the U.S. Military?

Patton:  As Military Commander

Recent Recruiting Trends and Their Implications for Models of Enlistment Supply

Resumes for Former Military Personnel

Rolling the Iron Dice: Historical Analogies and Decisions to Use Military Force in Regional Contingencies

Strategies to Protect the Health of Deployed U.S. Forces: Analytical Framework for Assessing Risks

Strategies to Protect the Health of Deployed U.S. Forces: Detecting, Characterizing, and Documenting Exposures

Technology-based Pilot Programs: Improving Future U.S. Military Reserve Forces

The United States and a Rising China: Strategic and Military Implications

Periodicals (Print)

Journal of Political and Military Sociology

 

Periodicals (Electronic)

Journal of Military and Strategic Studies

Military Parade: Latest News from the Russian Defence Industry

 

Electronic Databases

Academic Search Premier
America’s Newspapers
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Weekly
ERIC Documents Online
MasterFile Premier
Military & Government Collection
ProQuest Newspapers

Associations

Air Force Association
American Legion
Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association (AFCEA)
Association of the U.S. Army (AUSA)
Disabled American Veterans (DAV)
Enlisted Association of the National Guard of the United States (EANGUS)
Military Officers Association of America (MOAA)
Military Order of the Purple Heart (MOPH)
National Guard Association of the United States (NGAUS)
Reserve Officers Association (ROA)
United Armed Forces Association (UAFA)
USO
Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States
Vietnam Veterans of America (VVA)

 

Websites

Army National Guard
DefenseLink
GoArmy
Military.com
Today’s Military
United States Air Force
United States Air Force Recruiting Site
United States Army
United States Marine Corps
United States Navy
United States Coast Guard

 

 

 

10/19/06


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000