Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

HISTORY

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of History. Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases. The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web. Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

The Annals of America
Ref 973 An7 2003 (22 vols.)

Dictionary of American History
Ref 973.03 D56 2003 (10 vols.)

Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage

Encyclopedia of American Political History
Ref 973.03 En1 2001

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Culture
Ref 972.9 En1 2000 (3 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Ref 950 En1 2002 (6 vols.)

Encyclopedia of North American Indians

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Ref 973.5 En1 2001 (3 vols.)

Encyclopedia of United States Army Insignia and Uniforms

Encyclopedia of Western Gunfighters

Harvard Guide to African-American History
Ref 973.0496 H26, 2001

Historical Dictionary of Australia

Historical Dictionary of Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire)

Historical Dictionary of Pakistan

Humanities: A Selective Guide to Information Sources

Inventions and Inventors
Ref 609 IN8 2002

Mafia Encyclopedia

Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism

Ships of the World: An Historical Encyclopedia  

Subject Guide to U.S. Government Reference Sources

United States History: A Selective Guide to Information Sources

The World Book of America’s Presidents
Ref 973.099 W89 2002 (2 vols.)

(Books on History are cataloged between 900 and 999.)

E-Books

Abraham Lincoln, Constitutionalism, and Equal Rights During the Civil War Era

African American Historic Places

African American Military Heroes

African American Women and the Vote, 1837-1965

African Americans On the Western Frontier

African-American Christianity: Essays in History

Africans in Colonial Louisiana: The Development of Afro-Creole Culture in the Eighteenth Century

Australia

Beyond Our Wildest Dreams: The United Democratic Front and the Transformation of South Africa

Companion to Modern European History, 1871-1945

Drawing the Line : How Mason and Dixon Surveyed the Most Famous Border in America

Encyclopedia of the History of Technology

Growth of the International Economy 1820-2000: An Introductory Text

Journey to the Promised Land: The African American Struggle for Development Since the Civil War

Marcus Aurelius: A Biography

Political Legitimacy in Middle Africa : Father, Family, Food

Race and Affluence: An Archaeology of African America and Consumer Culture

Sacred Sites and the Colonial Encounter : A History of Meaning and Memory in Ghana

Shade of Swords: Jihad and the Conflict between Islam and Christianity

Slaving Voyage to Africa and Jamaica: The Log of the Sandown, 1793-1794

States and Sovereignty in the Global Economy

War of 1812

Who's Who in the Ancient Near East

 

Periodicals (Print)

American Historical Review
American Journal of Archeology
Current History
The History Teacher
History Today
Journal of Geography
Journal of Latin American Studies
Journal of Negro History

Periodicals (Electronic)

African Studies Quarterly: the online journal of African studies
B C Asian Review
C R O M O H S
Concilium medii aevi
Delaware Review of Latin American Studies
E-Journal of Portuguese History
Electronic Journal of Contemporary Japanese Studies
Electronic journal of oriental studies
Episteme NS - Revista del Instituto de Filosofía de la Universidad Central de Venezuela
Eras
History of Intellectual Culture
The History Journals News
International Journal of Naval History
Intersections: gender, history & culture in the Asian context
Jenda: A Journal of Culture and African Women Studies
Journal of the Association for History and Computing
Journal of the Australian War Memorial
Jouvert: a journal of postcolonial studies
Leeds International Classical Studies
Mirator
North American Journal of Welsh Studies
Pensamiento critico: revista electrònica de historia
Renaissance Forum
Revista Brasileira de História
Safundi: The Journal of South African and American Comparative Studies
Tabularia. Sources écrites de la Normandie médiévale
The Electronic Journal of Australian and New Zealand History
The North Star
Transoxiana - Journal de Estudios Orientales
West Africa Review

Electronic Databases

Jstor: The Scholarly Journal Archive
NCLive
American Slavery: a Composite Autobiography
(see NCLive.org)
Daily Life Through History (see NCLive.org)
Military and Government Collection
(see NCLive.org)
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
(see NCLive.org)
Netlibrary- A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

American Association for State and Local History
American Historical AssociationAssociation of Ancient Historians
History of Science Society
Oral History Association
Organization of American Historians
Phi Alpha Theta
Society for the History of Technology
World History Association

Websites

American Journeys - Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement
American Rhetoric - Database of American Related Speeches

American Memory
- Collections for the National Digital Library

ArchNet-World Wide Virtual Library for Archeology
Documents in Law History and Diplomacy
Best History Sites
- The Center for Teaching History with Technology
Historical Text Archive
Internet Library of Early Journals - A Digital Library of 18th and 19th Century journals
Internet Sacred Text Archive
The Online History Journals Guide
National Anthropological Archives  - National Museum of Natural History
National Archives and Records Administration
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration  Historical Maps and Charts
Nordic Notes
North Carolina- Exploring Cultural Heritage Online
Oriental Institute Research Archives Catalogue - University of Chicago
Physical Geography.Net
Renaissance Secrets
Rutgers Oral History Archive (World War II, Korea, Vietnam, Cold War)
The World Wide Virtual Library: History

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000