Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

HEALTH EDUCATION

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Health Education.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Alzheimer’s Disease Sourcebook
Ref 616.831 Al9, 2003

Dental Care and Oral Health Sourcebook
Ref 616.831 AL9, 2003

Encyclopedia of Aging
Ref 305.26 En1, 2002 (2 vols)

Encyclopedia of American Education
Ref 370.973 Un3e, 2001

Handbook of Gender, Culture, and Health
Ref 613.042 H19, 2000

Handbook of Nutrition and Diet
Ref 613.2 D45h, 2000

Handbook of Sports Studies
Ref 796 H19, 2000

Health Issues in the Black Community
Ref 362.1 H34, 2001

Mosby’s Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary
Ref 610.3 M85 2002

Women and Health
Ref 616.0082 W84, 2000

World of Health
Ref 610 W89, 2000

(In the General Collection books on Health are cataloged under 610-613)

E-Books

Careers in Health Care

Consent, Rights and Choices in Health Care for Children and Young People

Effective Healthcare Information Systems

Geographies of Women's Health

Handbook of Gender, Culture, and Health

Health and Sexuality Education in Schools : The Process of Social Change

Health Education : A Cognitive-behavioral Approach

Health Issues in the Black Community

Health Issues in the Latino Community

The Internet and Healthcare

Knowledge Media in Healthcare : Opportunities and Challenges

The Law of Tax-exempt Healthcare Organizations

Managing Healthcare Compliance

Managing Healthcare Information Systems With Web-enabled Technologies

The Mental Health Desk Reference

Nurse As Educator : Principles of Teaching and Learning

Nutrition Almanac

Organizational Ethics in Health Care : Principles, Cases, and Practical Solutions

OSHA Regulations and Guidelines : A Guide for Health Care Providers

People in Crisis : Clinical and Public Health Perspectives

Physical Activity and Health : A Report of the Surgeon General

Preventive Medicine and Public Health : PreTest Self-assessment and Review

Public and Private Initiatives : Working Together for Health and Education

Qualitative Research in Health Care

Quality, Evidence and Effectiveness in Health Promotion : Striving for Certainties

Risk Management Handbook for Health Care Organizations

Toward Environmental Justice : Research, Education, and Health Policy Needs

Winning in the Women's Health Care Marketplace : A Comprehensive Plan for Health

 

Periodicals (Print)

American Journal of Health Education
American Journal of Health Promotion
Dance Teacher
Health Education
Instructor
Journal of Health Education
JOPERD: The Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
Journal of School Health

Periodicals (Electronic)

Archives of Public Health
Current Issues in Education
The Electronic Journal of Human Sexuality
Emerging Infectious Diseases
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing

Put Prevention into Practice – Clinician’s Handbook of Preventive Services, 2nd Edition

Electronic Databases

FindArticles
Healthfinder
Healthlinkplus
Health Web
Jstor
NCLive
HIV InSite
MedlinePlus
National Women’s Health Information Center
NC Health Info

Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

American Association of Classified School Employees
American Alliance for Health Physical Education Recreation and Dance
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
 

Websites

American Cancer Society
American Diabetes Association
American Lung Association
The Digital Human Visualization Project
Early Childhood Education
Fast Food Finder – Nutritional Information on the nation’s restaurants
FirstGov
Global Health Facts
The Global Schoolhouse 
Internet Detectives
Harvard School of Public Health Nutrition Source
Healthcare Information Resources
MayoClinic.com 
Medline Plus – Health Topics
National Center for Health Statistics
National Health Information Center
National Women’s Health Information Center
Nutrient Data
Online Medical Dictionary
Rand Corp Health Research Area
National Institutes of Health
National Institute on Aging
National Kidney Foundation
National Mental Health Information Center
Tech-Learning
University of Wisconsin Center for Women’s Health

World Health Organization

 

 

10/18/06


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000