Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

FRENCH

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of French and French Education.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Dictionnaire des Films
Ref 791.43 D56, 2002

Dictionnaire du Français au college
Ref 443 D54, 2000

Education Index
Ref 016.37 Ed8 

Harrap’s Business Dictionary (English-French)
Ref 650.03 H23, 2001

Merriam-Webster’s French-English Dictionary
Ref 443 M55, 2000

Quid 2002
Ref 034 Qu4 , 2002

(General Collection books on French are cataloged in 443-448;French Literature 840-843; and French History 944)

E-Books

Apartment Stories : City and Home in Nineteenth-century Paris and London

Between the Ancients and the Moderns : Baroque Culture in Restoration England

Bodytalk : When Women Speak in Old French Literature

Chtimi : The Urban Vernaculars of Northern France

CliffsQuickReview French I

The Contemporary Novel in France

Cric Crac! : Teaching and Learning French Through Story-telling

De Mot En Mot : Aspects of Medieval Linguistics

The Dream of an Absolute Language : Emanuel Swedenborg and French Literary Culture

The Enlightenment in France

Esthetics of the Moment : Literature and Art in the French Enlightenment

France in the New World : Proceedings of the 22nd Annual Meeting of the French Colonial Historical Society

France On Display : Peasants, Provincials, and Folklore in the 1937 Paris World's Fair

French : Based On Schaum's Outline of French Grammar and French Vocabulary

French Cuisine : The Gourmet's Companion

French for Communication, 1979-1990

French Intellectual Nobility : Institutional and Symbolic Transformations in the Post-Sartrian Era

French-Canadian Literature

From Yorktown to Valmy : The Transformation of the French Army in an Age of Revolution

Gender and Fascism in Modern France

Identity, Insecurity and Image : France and Language

Le Ou La? : The Gender of French Nouns

Les Sauvages Amâericains : Representations of Native Americans in French and English

Narrative Voices in Modern French Fiction : Studies in Honour of Valerie Minogue On the Occasion of Her Retirement

No Tomorrow : The Ethics of Pleasure in the French Enlightenment

Pocket Idiot's Guide to French

The Radiance of France : Nuclear Power and National Identity After World War II

The Song in the Story : Lyric Insertions in French Narrative Fiction, 1200-1400

 

Periodicals (Print)

Jeune Afrique
Modern Language Association of American PLMA

Modern Language Journal
Romance Philology

Periodicals (Electronic)

French Studies
Translation Journal
Web Journal of French Media Studies

Electronic Databases

FindArticles
Jstor
NCLive
Netlibrary: A Collection of Electronic books

Associations

American Association of Teachers of French
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages
Foreign Language Association of North Carolina

Websites

About French Cuisine
ABU: La Bibliotheque Universelle
BBC Education-Talk French
Civilisation Française
Embassy of France
La Caedral de Girona
E-Library of Literature
Ethnologue
The French Connection
French Food and Cook
French Government Tourist Office
French Language Course
Electronic Text Center: French Language Resources
Glossary of Botanical Terms in French and English
Hapax: French Resources on the Web
Internet Activities for Foreign Language Classes
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
Louvre
Ministere de la culture ET de la commnication
Musee Rodin
The Napoleonic Guide
National K-12 Foreign Language Resource Center
Newspapers online
Tex’s French Grammar
Vlib-littérature
Voice of America: French Service
Volterre-Fr
Yahoo! France

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000