Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

ENGLISH

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of English. Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases. The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web. Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

American Indian Studies: A Bibliographic Guide  

American Military History: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources

British Writers
Ref 820.9 B77, 2003

Children’s Literature Review
Ref 028.55 C43 2004, (91 Vols)

Contemporary Authors
Ref 810.9 C76 2004   (217 Vols)

Contemporary Literary Criticism
Ref 810.9 C76 2004  (182 Vols)

Dictionary of Native American Literature

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature

Encyclopedia of the Essay

An F. Scott Fitzgerald Encyclopedia

Humanities: A Selective Guide to Information Sources

Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature

Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Ref 809.03 L71 2004 (92 Vols)

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Ref 809.034 N62, 2004  (134 Vols)

Oxford Companion to African American Literature

Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature

Poetry Criticism
Ref 809 P75, 2004  (50 Vols)

Recommended Reference Books in Paperback

Reference Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction

Reference Works in British and American Literature

Shakespearean Criticism
Ref 822.33 Sh1, 2004  (78 Vols)

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Ref 809.04 G13t 2004  (143 Vols)

(Books on English and World Literature are cataloged between 800 and 897)

E-books

100 Most Popular Children's Authors : Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies

1001 Vocabulary and Spelling Questions

501 Grammar and Writing Questions

Age of Iron : English Renaissance Tropologies of Love and Power

The Anglo-Irish Novel and the Big House

Annual Review of Adult Learning and Literacy. Vol. 2

Assuming the Positions : Cultural Pedagogy and the Politics of Commonplace Writing

Beowulf : The Fight At Finnsburh

Beverley Nichols : A Life

Charles Dickens

CliffsQuickReview Writing : Grammar, Usage, and Style

Content-based College ESL Instruction

Doctrine and Devotion in Seventeenth-century Poetry : Studies in Donne, Herbert, Crashaw, and Vaughan

Educating Language-minority Children

Expanding Literacies : English Teaching and the New Workplace

Fathers and Daughters in Shakespeare and Shaw

Frames and Fictions On Television : The Politics of Identity Within Drama

 Heart of Darkness and Other Tales

The Greatest English Classic : A Study of the King James Version of the Bible and Its Influence On Life Literature

Improving Your Written English : How to Sharpen Up Your Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling for Everyday Use

The Life of Thomas Hardy : A Critical Biography

The Literate Executive

Modern Armenian Drama : An Anthology

The Nightmare of History : The Fictions of Virginia Woolf and D.H. Lawrence

The Play's the Thing : A Story About William Shakespeare

Reference Works in British and American Literature

Rethinking Basic Writing : Exploring Identity, Politics, and Community in Interaction

The Rise and Fall of English : Reconstructing English As a Discipline

Schaum's Quick Guide to Writing Great Essays

Second Language Students in Mainstream Classrooms : A Handbook for Teachers in International Schools

Secret Selves : Confession and Same-sex Desire in Victorian Autobiography

The Shakespeare Reader

Snake's Pillow and Other Stories

The Sociopolitics of English Language Teaching

Spoken Soul : The Story of Black English

Studies in the History of Old English Literature

Talking Back to Emily Dickinson and Other Essays

Teaching Composition As a Social Process

The Teacher's Grammar Book

The Teacher's Grammar Book

The Theory and Practice of Grading Writing: Problems and Possibilities

The Unabridged William Shakespeare

Women Saints Lives in Old English Prose

 

Periodicals (Print)

Modern Language Association of American PLMA
Modern Language Journal

Periodicals (Electronic)

Arts Journal.com: the Daily Digest of Arts, Culture and Ideas
CLCweb: Comparative Literature and Culture
Early Modern Literary Studies
- English literary culture of the 16th and 17th centuries
Folklore
Sixbillion.org
Words Without Borders - online magazine of international literature
The Write News - resources for media and publishing professionals

 

Electronic Databases

Find Articles
Jstor: The Scholarly Journal Archive
NCLive
            African-American Poetry 
            American Poetry
            Critical Companions to Popular
Contemporary Writers
            English Poetry
            Faber Poetry Library
            Literature in Context
            Scribner Writers Series 
            Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
            Twentieth Century American Poetry
            Twentieth-Century English Poetry
Netlibrary: A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

American Academy of Poets
College Language Association
- An Organization of College Teachers of English and
Other Languages
Modern Language Association
Mystery Writers of America
Organization of Black Screenwriters
Poetry Society of America
National Council of Teachers of English
Writers Guild Of America

Websites

A+: Research and Writing for High School and College Students
American Literature: Writing Black - Literature
American Rhetoric
American Folklore
- folktales, legends, tall tales, and ghost stories from every state
Atlantic Unbound: The Poetry Pages
Avoiding Plagiarism
Baen Free Library
The Elements of Style – Grammar & Usage
Encyclopedia Mythica
English Literature on the Web - Hyper-Concordance to Literature on the Web
Great Books On Line
Guide to Grammar & Writing
Indispensable Writing Resources
Library of Congress
Luminarium - Medieval and Renaissance Literature
Merriam-Webster Online Language Center
Modern American Poetry
NBC Diversity Initiative for Writers
Online Library of Literature
Poetry Archives
Short Stories
Theatrehistory.Com
Wright American Fiction 1851-1875 - Online Guide to Richard Wright
Wordplay - Columns and commentary by Professional Screenwriters

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000