Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

Education - Elementary

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Elementary Education.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Children’s Literature Review
Ref 028.55 C43 2004 (91 Vols) 

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Ref 150.287 C73, 2004 (4 vols)

Digest of Education Statistics
Ref 370.973 D56, 2002

Education and Technology
Ref 371.33 ED8, 2004 (2 vols)

Encyclopedia of American Education
Ref 370.973 Un3e, 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
Ref 370.3 En1 2003 (8Vols)

Encyclopedia of Special Education
Ref 371.9 En1, 2000

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
Ref 370.196 H19, 2001

Handbook of Research on Teaching
Ref 370.72 H19, 2001

Tests
Ref 150.287 T28, 2003 

Tests in Print
Ref 016.37126 T28, 2002

Transitions in American Education
Ref 370.973 P22t, 2001

World Education Encyclopedia
Ref 370.3 W89, 2002

(In the General Collection books on Elementary Education are cataloged in 372)

E-books

American History Through Earth Science

Art Projects By Design : A Guide for the Classroom

Computers and Talk in the Primary Classroom

CUES : Choose, Use, Enjoy, Share : a Model for Educational Enrichment Through the School Library Media Center

Everybody Belongs : Changing Negative Attitudes Toward Classmates With Disabilities

Exploring Diversity : Literature Themes and Activities for Grades 4-8

Gifted Books, Gifted Readers : Literature Activities to Excite Young Minds

Helping Your Child to Learn At Primary School : How to Support and Improve Your Child's Learning Potential

How to Develop Your Child's Gifts and Talents in Math

Knowing and Teaching Elementary Mathematics : Teachers' Understanding of Fundamental Mathematics in China and the United States

Multicultural Information Quests : Instant Research Lessons, Grades 5-8

Science Adventures With Children's Literature : A Thematic Approach

Second Language Students in Mainstream Classrooms : A Handbook for Teachers in International Schools

Taking Back Control : African Canadian Women Teachers' Lives and Practice

Teach Your Child Math : Making Math Fun for the Both of You

Teaching Health Science : Elementary and Middle School

Terrific Connections With Authors, Illustrators, and Storytellers : Real Space and Virtual Links

 

Periodicals (Print)

Childhood Education
Dimensions of Early Childhood
The Elementary School Journal
Exceptional Children
Grade Teacher
Instructor
Journal of Research in Childhood Education
Journal of Special Education
Nation's Schools
Schoolarts
Teaching pre-K-8

Periodicals (Electronic)

Current Issues in Education
ECRP: Early Childhood Research & Practice
Education Policy Analysis Archives
Educational Technology and Society
Reading Online
Tech Learning: Resource for Education Technology Leaders

Electronic Databases

Find Articles
Jstor
NCLive
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

American Association of Classified School Employees
American Federation of Teachers
American Library Association
Association for Educational Communication and Technology
National Education Association

Websites

Association for Educational Communications and Technology
Classroom Activities
Center for the Study of Teaching and Policy
Coalition of Essential Schools
Department of Education
Early Childhood Education
ENC Online 
The Global Schoolhouse
Internet Detectives
IEARN
Learn North Carolina: The NC Teachers’ Network
Marco Polo: Internet Content for the Classroom
Preparing Tomorrow’s Teachers to Use Technology
Rand Corporation- Education Research Area
Science Activities Manual K-8
Study Stack
Teachers Network

Tech-Learning
Teaching K-12 Economics

 

 

01/24/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000