Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

CRIMINOLOGY

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Criminology.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Chambers Global: The World’s Leading Lawyers
Ref 340 C35, 2003

Encyclopedia of American Prisons

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Ref 364.03 En1 2002

Legal Systems of the World
Ref 340.03 L52, 2002 (4 vols)

Mafia Encyclopedia

Oran's Dictionary of the Law

(Books in the general collection on Law are cataloged between 640-650,  Prison Administration 365, and Police Work 363-364)

E-Books

"Doing Justice" in the People's Court : Sentencing By Municipal Court Judges

SUNY Series in New Directions in Crime and Justice Studies

Explaining Crime

Great Jobs for Criminal Justice Majors

Immigrants in Courts

Inventing Criminology : Essays On the Rise of Homo Criminalis

SUNY Series in Deviance and Social Control

Legal Provision in the Rural Environment : Legal Services, Criminal Justice and Welfare Provision in Rural Areas

The Logic of Women On Trial : Case Studies of Popular American Trials

Negotiating Responsibility in the Criminal Justice System Elmer H. Johnson and Carol Holmes Johnson Series in Criminology

Negrophobia and Reasonable Racism : The Hidden Costs of Being Black in America: Critical America

The Transformation of Criminal Justice, Philadelphia, 1800-1880 Studies in Legal History


 

Periodicals (Print)

Criminology
Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology
Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency
Justice Quarterly: JQ/ Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences
Policing
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Periodicals (Electronic)

Asian-Pacific law & policy journal
Correctional News
Corrections Technology and Management

Duke Environmental Law & Policy
Duke Journal of Comparative and International Law
Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy
Duke Law Journal
E Law - Murdoch University Electronic Journal of Law
Electronic Journal of Comparative Law
ELSA Selected Papers on European Law
European Journal of International Law
Federal Courts Law Review
Intellectual Property and Technology Forum
International Journal of Communications Law and Policy
Ius et praxis (En línea)
Journal of Credibility Assessment and Witness Psychology
Journal of Information, Law and Technology
Law & Contemporary Problems
Law, social justice & global development
Michigan Telecommunications and Technology Law Review
Richmond Journal of Law and Technology
Stanford Technology Law Review
The Connecticut Public Interest Law Journal
Yale Human Rights and Developmental Law Journal
 

Electronic Databases

Find Articles
JSTORE
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
LegalTrac
NCLive
Netlibrary

Associations

American Bar Association
American Civil Liberties Union
American Correction Association
American Probation and Parole Association
American Tort Reform Association
Association of State Correctional Administrators
Association of Trial Lawyers of America
Institute for Justice
International Brotherhood of Police
National Association of Probation Executives
National Correctional Industries Association
National Association of Wardens and Superintendents

Websites

ALLLAW
Anatomy of a Murder – A Trip Through Our Legal System
Brennan Center for Justice
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Corrections.com
Crime in North Carolina
Crime Library
Crimes of War Project
Criminal Justice Links
Eur-Lex: The Portal To European Union Law
FirstGov
Federal Bureau of Prisons
Federal Judiciary Homepage
FedStats
Find Law
Jurist
Lawguru
LLI: The Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
National Law Enforcement and Corrections Technology Center
National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism
National Institute of Corrections
Perspectives on U.S. Criminal System
Public Law and Legal Theory
The Sentencing Project
Supreme Court of the United States
TRAC FBI (Statistics)
U.S. Sentencing Commission

White Collar Crime Resources
Youth Law Center

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000