Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

COMPUTER SCIENCE/ INFORMATION SYSTEMS

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Computer Science/Information Systems. Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases. The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web. Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Management Information Systems

Dictionary of e-Business
Ref 658.84 B65d, 2000

Information Sources in Science and Technology

Information Sources in Science and Technology

International Encyclopedia of Technical Analysis

Internet Encyclopedia. Volume 2, G-O

Internet Encyclopedia. Volume 3, P-Z

The Irwin Handbook of Telecommunications Management
Ref 621.382 G82i, 2001

Microsoft Computer Dictionary  

Microsoft Internet & Networking Dictionary

Perl Developer's Dictionary

Practically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations On Engineering, Technology, and Architecture

(Books covering Computer Science are catalogued under 004)

E-Books

Adaptive Evolutionary Information Systems

Advanced Topics in Global Information Management. Vol. 2  

Algorithm Design for Networked Information Technology Systems  

Concept Data Analysis: Theory and Applications  

ERP & Data Warehousing in Organizations: Issues and Challenges  

Environmental Information Systems in Industry and Public Administration

Global IT Management: A Practical Approach

Going Virtual: Distributed Communities of Practice  

History of Online Information Services, 1963-1976

IT Innovation for Adaptability and Competitiveness

Information Management: Support Systems & Multimedia Technology  

Information Systems Evaluation Management

Information Visualization in Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery

Knowledge Representation, Reasoning, and Declarative Problem Solving  

Managing Information: IT for Business Processes

Networked Information Technologies

Project Management Communications Toolkit

SAP BW Certification: A Business Information Warehouse Study Guide  

Strategic Planning for Information Systems

Understanding Information Systems: What They Do and Why We Need Them

 

Periodicals (Print)

Business 2.0
Communications of the ACM
Computer
Computer Technology Review
Computer Games
Datamation
IEEE Spectrum
IEEE Technology and Society
Information Security System
Proceedings of the IEEE

Periodicals (Electronic)

ACM Queue - tomorrow’s computing today
Communications Engineering and Design - magazine of broadband technology
Complexity International
Computer Software
Crosstalk: Journal of Defense Software Engineering
Data Science Journal
Electronic Transactions on Artifical Intelligence
First Monday
Game Studies
I B M Journal of Research and Development
IEEE Distributed Systems Online
Inteligencia Artificial. Ibero-American Journal of Artificial Intelligence
IntelTechnology Journal - new material on Intel microprocessors by company
Interactive Multimedia Electronic Journal of Computer - Enhanced Learning
InterJournal
International Journal of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science
International Journal of Design Computing
Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication
Journal of Design Communication
Journal of Digital Information  - management of information in digital environments
The Journal of Instruction-Level Parallelism
Journal of Machine Learning Research
Journal of Object Technology
Journal of the Association for History and Computing
Journal of the Brazilian Computer Society
Linux Journal - the monthly magazine of the Linux community
Monitor Magazine Online
Studies in Informatics and Control
The Electronic Journal of Information Systems in Developing Countries
Transactions of the Japanese Society for Artificial Intelligence
U R I S A Journal
UPGRADE: The European Journal for the Informatics Professional
Crossings: Electronic Journal of Art and Technology
e-Journal of Surface Science and Nanotechnology
Electron Technology - Internet Journal
Journal of Industrial Technology
Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology
Journal of Technology Education

Electronic Databases

Access Science - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online
Looksmart’s Find Articles
Lexis-Nexis Academic Search Page
NCLive - Your Library Link to the World
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

Association for Computing Machinery
American Society for Cybernetics
Computer and Automated Systems Association
Computing Research Association
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.
InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards
Institute for Certification of Computing Professionals
Storage Networking Industry Association
Web Standards Project

Websites

Agilent Technologies Educators Corner
Computational Science Education Reference Desk
EETIMES Network
E-Learning Network - IT fundamentals online
Electronic Frontier Foundation
The Digital Human Visualization Project  
Java Programming Center

Learn Perl
Linux/Unix Tutorial
National Center for Supercomputing Applications
NPACI - National Partnership for Advanced Computational Infrastructure
Optoelectronic Computing Systems Center - University of Colorado
Programmers Heaven
Python-programming language - o
fficial website for the Python Language
San Diego Supercomputing Center - University of California at San Diego
The Scientist and Engineer’s Guide to Digital Signal Processing - on-line textbook
Visual Basic Section - tutorials and source code
WEBster: The Place to Learn Assembly Language Programming
X-VRML Language - a
dvanced virtual reality applications
Webopedia Online Dictionary

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000