Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

Chicago Manual of Style [CMS]

FAQ - searchable database of questions and answers about CMS.


 

The following guide is courtesy of: Dr. Eugene Hermitte

Kate Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations

 Note (Endnotes/Footnotes) and Bibliography Methods of Citation 

Source

Endnote/Footnote

Bibliography

Book: Single Author

     1John Franklin, George Washington, 2d ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1985), 54.

Franklin, John.  George Washington. 2d ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1985.

Book: Two Authors

    2 Brian Kernighan and Dennis Ritchie, Programming Language (Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1978), 185. 

Kernighan, Brian and Dennis Ritchie.     Programming Language. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1978.

Book: Multiple Authors, Editor

    3Martin Greene and others, eds., Networks for Research: Sharing the Computer (Cambridge: MIT Press, 1974), 50.

Greene, Martin, Julius Aronofsky, James McKenney, and William Massy, eds. Networks for Research: Sharing the  Computer. Cambridge: MIT Press, 1974.

Book:
No Author
Given

    4The Lottery (London: J. Watts [1732]), 20-25.

The Lottery.  London: J. Watts [1732].

Book:
Institution

    5American Library Association, Adult Services Division, Statement Development Committee, Directions for Library Service (Chicago: American Library Association, 1978), 25.

American Library Association, Adult Services Division, Statement Development Committee. Directions for Library Service.  Chicago: American Library Association, 1978.

Published Reports

    6G. C. Cowles, Office Automation (Cincinnati: National Institute for Technology, Division of Computer Software, 1984), 145, NTIS, PB84-240.

Cowles, G. C. Office Automation.  Cincinnati: National Institute for Technology, Division of Computer Software, 1984.  NTIS, PB84-240.

Government Documents

    7Department of the Interior, Minerals Management Service, Oilspill Risk Analysis, by Robert LaBelle, open-file report, U.S. Geological Survey, 83-119 (Denver, CO: U.S. Geological Survey, 1983), lease offerings microform.

U.S. Department of the Interior. Minerals Management Service. Oilspill Risk Analysis, by Robert LaBelle.  Open-file report, U.S. Geological Survey, 83-119. Denver, CO: U.S. Geological Survey, 1983. Lease offerings microform.

Article/Chapter: Book

     8Mary Beech, “Hindu Women,” in Separate Worlds, ed. Hanna Papanek (Delhi: Chanakya, 1982), 115.

Beech, Mary. “Hindu Women.” In Separate Worlds, ed. Hanna Papnanek, 110-138. Delhi: Chanakya, 1982.

Article:
Journal

    9Richard Jackson, “Red Kangaroos: Babies,” Australian Geography 14 (May 1979): 180.

Jackson, Richard. “Red Kangaroos: Babies.”  Australian Geography 14 (May 1979): 175-96.

Article: Newspaper

    10Andre Camille, “Health-Care Costs,” Los Angeles Times, 27 March 1984, sec. 1A, p. 3.

Camille, Andre. “Health-Care Costs.” Los Angeles Times, 27 March 1984, sec. 1A, p. 3.

Internet

    11Brendan Kehoe, “Zen and Internet,” May 1992, <http://www.buffalo.edu/music/zen.html> (12 April 2002).  [date = date of access]

Kehoe, Brendan. “Zen and Internet.” May 1992.     <http://www.buffalo.edu/music/zen.html> (12 April 2002).

Manuscript

    12Robert Craft, “A Catalog of Works of Stravinsky, 1970” TMs [photocopy], p. 136, Special Collections, Regenstein Library, University of Chicago, Chicago.
[abbreviations in Turabian: 2.19]

Craft, Robert. “A Catalog of Works of  Stravinsky, 1970” TMs [photocopy]. Special Collections, Regenstein Library, University of Chicago, Chicago.

Interview: Published

    13John Fowles, “A Conversation with John Fowles,” interview by Robert Foulk (New Orleans, 3 April 1984), Salmagundi, no. 68-69 (Fall 1985-Winter 1986): 370.

Fowles, John. “A Conversation with John Fowles.” Interview by Robert Foulk (New Orleans, 3 April 1984). Salmagundi, no. 68-69 (Fall 1985-Winter 1986): 367-384.

Interview: Unpublished

    14Benjamin Spock, Interview by Milton Senn, 20 November 1974, interview 67A, transcript, Senn Oral History Collection, Library of Medicine, Bethesda, Md.

Spock, Benjamin. Interview by Milton Senn, 20 November 1974. Interview 67A, transcript. Senn Oral History Collection, Library of  Medicine, Bethesda, Md.

Interview: By Writer of  Paper, Unpublished

    15Mayor Harold Washington of Chicago, interview by author, 23 June 1985, Chicago, tape recording, Chicago Historical Society, Chicago.

Washington, Harold, mayor of Chicago. Interview by author, 23 June 1985, Chicago. Tape recording. Chicago Historical Society, Chicago.

Subsequent References – Same Page

     16Ibid.

 

Subsequent References – Different Page

     17Ibid., 68.

 

Subsequent References –
Not Immediately Following Previous Endnote/
Footnote

     18Longacre, 382.
[last name, no title if only one work by the author, page number]

     19Plowman, Study of Blake, 125.
[last name, short title if more than one work by author, page number]

 

Content Notes

     20Detailed evidence can be found in Plowman, Study of Blake, 129-138.

 

Cross-References

     21For a detailed discussion of this matter see pp. 31-35 below.

 

Underlined material (e.g. titles) may instead be italicized.  Italicized is preferable because underlining is now used for hypertext.

11/18/04


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000