Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

CHEMISTRY

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Chemistry.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Annual Review of Physical Chemistry
Ref 541.025 An7 2003 (Vol. 54)

Annual Review of Biochemistry
Ref 574.192 AN7 2002 (Vol. 71)

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics 2001-2002
Ref 540 C42, 2001

General Science Index
Ref 016.5 G28

(Books covering Chemistry are cataloged
between 540 - 548.842 and 660-660.3)

E-Books

Electron Paramagnetic Resonance in Biochemistry and Medicine

Prometheans in the Lab : Chemistry and the Making of the Modern World

CliffsQuickReview Chemistry

Physics and Chemistry Basis of Biotechnology

Analytical Methods in Combinatorial Chemistry

Pharmaceutical Emulsions and Suspensions

Analytical Techniques in Combinatorial Chemistry

Solid-phase Extraction : Principles, Techniques, and Applications

Soil Biochemistry. Vol. 10

The Bartonian Legacy

Organic Chemistry II

Great Jobs for Chemistry Majors

Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of Organic Chemistry

Schaum's Outlines : Theory and Problems of Beginning Chemistry

Chemistry and Physics of Carbon : a Series of Advances. Vol. 26

Principles of Soil Chemistry

The Atmospheric Sciences : Entering the Twenty-first Century

The Properties of Solvents

Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics : From Air Pollution to Climate Change

Chemistry Today and Tomorrow : The Central, Useful, and Creative Science

Synthetic Approaches in Organic Chemistry

Chemical Sciences in the Modern World

 

Periodicals (Print)

Analytical Chemistry
Chemical Innovation

Chemtech
Industrial & Engineering Chemistry
Journal of the American Chemical Society
Journal of the Chemical Society
Journal of Chemical Education
Journal of Chemical Physics
Journal of Organic Chemistry
Journal of Physical Chemistry

Periodicals (Electronic)

Acta Chimica Slovenica
Acta Chromatographica
Analytical Sciences
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics Discussions
Boletín de la Sociedad Chilena de Química
Bulletin of the Chemical Society of Japan
Bulletin of the Korean Chemical Society
Bunseki Kagaku
Chemical & Pharmaceutical Bulletin
Chemical Journal on Internet
Chemistry Education: Research and Practice
Chinese Journal of Chemistry
Croatica Chemica Acta
Current Science
Department of Energy Pulse
Egyptian Journal of Solids
Hyle: International Forum for the Philosophy of Chemistry
International Journal of Molecular Sciences
Internet Electronic Journal of Molecular Design
Internet Journal of Nitride Semiconductor Research
Journal of the Brazilian Chemical Society
Journal of the Chilean Chemical Sociaty
Journal of the Korean Chemical Society
Journal of the Serbian Chemical Society
Molecules, A Journal of Synthetic Chemistry and Natural Product Chemistry
Proceedings - Chemical Sciences
Química Nova
Sensors
Brazilian Journal of Chemical Engineering
E-polymers
Journal of Chemical Engineering of Japan
M R S Internet Journal of Nitride Semiconductor Research
Polymer Journal

Electronic Databases

Access Science
Looksmart’s Find Articles
Lexis-Nexis Academic Search Page
NCLive
Netlibrary

Associations

American Chemical Society
American Institute of Chemical Engineers
American Institute of Chemists
Association of Official Analytical Chemists
Council for Chemical Research
|
Materials Research Society
National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and
Chemical Engineers
The Royal Society of Chemistry

 

Websites

ACD/ChemSKetch 5.0 Freeward
All About Chemical Bonding
Alphabetical Listing of Molecules

Analytical Chemistry Springboard
Chem.Com
Chemguide  
Chemical Equations
Chemical Sensors Research Group
What You Need to Know about Chemistry
Chemsoc
ChemSpy.com: the Internet Navigator for the Chemical Industry
Chemistry Tutorials
EPA: Green Chemistry Mission
Global Instructional Chemistry

Links for Chemists
Organic Compounds Database
EPIC: Experiential Programs in Chemistry
The Physical and Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory

The Notre Dame Radiation Chemistry Data Center
UCLA: Organic Chemistry Tutorials

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000