Search the Catalog
About the Library
Services
Reference
Electronic Resources
Remote Access
JILL
Archives
Virtual Tour
Site Index

Current Student
Future Student
Faculty & Staff
Friends & Visitors
Alumni

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SUBJECT GUIDE

BUSINESS AND ECONOMICS

This guide identifies some of the sources available in James B. Duke Memorial Library for conducting research in the area of Business and Economics.  Our collection consists of reference materials, periodicals, newspapers and electronic databases.  The online catalog provides information by subject, title, author, and words in the title. The General Collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, current periodicals, bound periodicals, and microforms are located on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to a number of resources via subscription based electronic research databases and the World Wide Web.  Completing a library assignment or research project will entail consulting a combination of print, electronic and World Wide Web resources.  Internet resources should be evaluated based on their source using the same criteria that one would use for evaluating an individual text source.

 

Reference Books and Indexes

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Ref 338.74 T75a, 2000

Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists

Business Periodicals Index
Ref 016.6505 B96

Encyclopedia of Business
Ref 650.03 En1, 2000

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Ref 338.003 ENI, 2001

Statistical Abstract of the United States 2002
Ref 317.3 Un3s 2002

(Books on Economics are cataloged between 333-337; Business between 650-655)

 

E-books

A Different Vision. Vol. 1, African American Economic Thought

A Strategy for Development

An Anticlassical Political-economic Analysis : A Vision for the Next Century

Attracting Foreign Direct Investment Into Infrastructure : Why Is It So Difficult?

Occasional Paper (Foreign Investment Advisory Service) ; 12

Basic Economic Principles : A Guide for Students

Corridor of Hope : A Visual View of Informal Economy

Ecological Economics : A Political Economics Approach to Environment and Development

Economics

Economics : A Self-teaching Guide

Economics and the Historian

Economics Basics

Economics n the Long Run : New Deal Theorists and Their Legacies, 1933-1993

Economy and Society in Prehistoric Europe : Changing Perspectives

EVA and Value Based Management : A Practical Guide to Implementation

Facets of Globalization : International and Local Dimensions of Development World Bank Discussion Papers ; 415

Foundations of Business Economics : Markets and Prices

Handbook of Applied Economic Statistics

Lead Us Into Temptation : The Triumph of American Materialism

Managerial Economics : Firms, Markets, and Business Decisions

Managing Sustainable Development

Neighborhood Recovery : Reinvestment Policy for the New Hometown

Private Infrastructure in East Asia : Lessons Learned in the Aftermath of the Crisis

World Bank Technical Paper, 0253-7494 ; No. 501

Race and Affluence : An Archaeology of African America and Consumer Culture

Contributions to Global Historical Archaeology

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics

The Budget Kit : The Common Cent$ Money Management Workbook

The Business of Consumption : Environmental Ethics and the Global Economy

The Economic Consequences of Rolling Back the Welfare State

Munich Lectures in Economics

The Macroeconomics of Self-fulfilling Prophecies

The Nobel Laureates : How the World's Greatest Economic Minds Shaped Modern Thought

The Rhetoric of Economics

The Rise of Political Economy As a Science : Methodology and the Classical Economists

The ROI of Human Capital : Measuring the Economic Value of Employee Performance

The Spatial Economy : Cities, Regions and International Trade

Periodicals (Print)

American Business Review
Black Enterprise
Business Economics
Business Week
Financial Analysts Journal
Forbes
Fortune
Harvard Business Review
Independent Banker
Money
New York Times
Quarterly Journal of Economics
Wall Street Journal

Periodicals (Electronic)

Center for Economic Research Newsletter
Economist
Far Eastern Economic Review

The Indian Economic Journal
African Population Studies
Asian Development Review
Brazilian Electronic Journal of Economics
CESifo Forum
Chimera
Cuadernos de economía - Latin American Journal of Economics
Demographic Research
Economics Bulletin
Electronic Journal of Evolutionary Modeling and Economic Dynamics
Finnish Economic Papers
IMF Staff Papers
Nova Economia
Review of Network Economics
Revista Brasileira de Economia
The Industrial Geographer

Electronic Databases

Economics Working Paper Archive
Find Articles
Jstor
Kiplinger Finance & Forecasts
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
NCLive
Netlibrary - A Collection of Electronic Books

Associations

American Institute for Economic Research
Association for Cultural Economics International
Association for Social Economics
Atlas Economic Research Foundation
Center for Popular Economics
International Association for Feminist Economics
International Atlantic Economic Society
National Association for Business Economics
National Bureau of Economic Research
National Economic Association
North American Economics and Finance Association

Websites

Abstracts in Economic History
Argmax: Economics News, Data, and Analysis

B&E Data Links: econ and financial data resources
Brookings Institute
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Business and Economics Glossary
Economic Education Web
Economic Data

Economic Development Web Site
Economic Growth Resources
Economic History Resources

Economics Working Papers
FedStats
FINWeb
FirstGov
Internet Resources on Global Problems and Culture of Capitalism
Lycos Marketing
Money: Past, Present & Future
University of Connecticut Ideas
U.S. Bureau of the Census
U.S. Corporate, Industrial and Economic Information
U.S. Department of Commerce
Vibes
WebEC
Web Resources for International Economics & Business
World Bank
WWW Resources in Economics

 

 

02/08/05


www Johnson C. Smith University
Campus Map  |  Directory  | Campus Security  | Contact    100 Beatties Ford Rd.  •  Charlotte, NC 28216  •  (704) 378-1000