|
MLA Style
examples from or based on
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research
Papers
________________________________________________________________________
BIBLIOGRAPHY EXAMPLES
BOOK - SINGLE AUTHOR
Frye, Northrop. Anatomy
of Criticism: Four Essays. Princeton: Princeton UP, 1957.
BOOK - MORE THAN ONE AUTHOR
Bondanella,
Peter, and Julia Conaway Bondanella, eds. Dictionary of Italian
Literature. Westport:
Greenwood, 1979.
A MULTIVOLUME WORK
Daiches, David. A
Critical History of English Literature. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. New York:
Ronald, 1970. 2 vols.
A WORK IN AN ANTHOLOGY
Hansberry, Lorraine. A
Raisin in the Sun. Black Theater: A Twentieth-Century
Collection of the
Work of
Its Best Playwrights. Ed. Lindsay Patterson. New York: Dodd, 1971.
221-76.
ARTICLE FROM JOURNAL
(continuous paging in volume)
Spear, Karen.
"Building Cognitive Skills in Basic Writers." Teaching
English in the Two Year College
9 (1983): 91-98.
ARTICLE FROM JOURNAL (each
issue paged separately)
Monk, Patricia.
"Frankenstein's Daughters: The Problems of the Feminine Image in
Science Fiction."
Mosaic 13.3-4 (1980): 15-27.
ARTICLE FROM NEWSPAPER
Dalin, Damon. "A
$7 Greeting Card? Yes, But Listen To The Melody It Will Play For
You." Wall Street
Journal 10 May 1983, eastern ed.: D37.
REFERENCE BOOK ARTICLE -
UNSIGNED
"Graham,
Martha." Who's Who of American Women. 13th ed. 1983-84.
REFERENCE BOOK ARTICLE -
SIGNED
Chiappini, Luciano.
"Este, House of." Encyclopedia Britannica: Macropaedia.
1974 ed
WORLD WIDE WEB BASED RESOURCE
Churchyard, H. “Pride
and Prejudice—Notes on Education, Marriage, Status of Women, etc.” Jane
Austen Information Page 1994-95. Online. Internet. 28 May 1995.
Available
HTTP: uts.cc.utexas.edu/~churchh/pptopic2.html
The list of works cited begins
on a new page at the end of the scholarly work; center and title each page
with "Works Cited"; number each page continuing the sequence
of the text. Use parenthetical notes in the text (see next page) to
specify what you derived from the list of works cited.
Each citation generally has
three main divisions, each followed by a period and two spaces: the
author's name reversed for alphabetizing, the title, and the publishing
data. Each entry begins flush with the left margin; if the entry is more
than one line long, indent each subsequent line five paces. The entire
list should be double spaced between entries and within entries.
Alphabetize the citations
by the author's last name; if the author's last name is unknown,
alphabetize the entry by the first word in the title other than an
article.
These citations are
examples of only the most commonly used resources. For citation examples
of other kinds of source materials or more specific information refer to
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research papers.
PARENTHETICAL NOTE EXAMPLES
ONE WORK BY SINGLE AUTHOR
Frye has argued this
point before (178-85). [if name appears as part of the narrative]
This point has been argued before (Frye 178-85).
ONE WORK BY TWO OR MORE
AUTHORS
Others, like Wellek and
Warren (310-315), hold an opposite point of view.
Others
hold an opposite point of view (e.g., Wellek and Warren 310-315).
CORPORATE AUTHORS
In 1963, the prediction
was...(United Nations, Economic Commission for Africa, 79-86).
The Commission on the Humanities has concluded that... (69).
WORKS WITH NO AUTHOR OR WITH
AN ANONYMOUS AUTHOR
According to the
Handbook of Korea, much Korean sculpture... (241-47).
Later,
the characters are confronted by tragedy ("Joy Ride").
TWO OR MORE WORKS WITHIN SAME
PARENTHESES
(Frye 42; Bree 101-33)
(National
Committee 25-35; Potter et al., vol. 1)
PART OF AN ARTICLE OR
SINGLE-VOLUME BOOK
Kenneth Clark has
raised some interesting questions (1-5, 12-13).
A
1983 report found a decline...(Hook 10).
PART OF A MULTIVOLUME WORK
Parties underwent
profound changes between 1945-72 (Schlesinger, vol.4)
Daiches
is useful on the Restoration (2:538-89)
The above examples are a way
of specifying what you have derived from the sources listed in your
bibliography or "works cited" list. (2 examples are provided for
each kind of note) They belong within the text of your work. Usually the
author's last name and page number are all that is needed. If no author is
given in the source, use the title.
These parenthetical references
should be brief and few; but, don't sacrifice providing accurate credit
for the work you used. Place the parenthetical reference as near the
material it documents as possible yet where a natural pause in reading
occurs (like the end of a sentence).
* These citations are examples
of only the most commonly used resources. For citation examples of other
kinds of source materials or more
specific information refer to MLA Handbook for Writers of Research papers.
ENDNOTE EXAMPLES
BOOK - SINGLE AUTHOR
1 Northrop Frye, Anatomy of Criticism: Four Essays
(Princeton: Princeton UP, 1957) 52.
BOOK - MORE THAN ONE AUTHOR
2 Peter Bondanella, and Julia Conaway Bondanella, eds., Dictionary
of Italian Literature
(Westport:
Greenwood, 1979) 52-57.
A MULTIVOLUME WORK
3 David Daiches, A Critical History of English Literature,
2nd ed., 2 vols. (New York: Ronald,
1970) 2:538-39.
A WORK IN AN ANTHOLOGY
4 Lorraine Hansberry, A Raisin in the Sun, Black Theater: A
Twentieth-Century Collection of
the Work of Its Best Playwrights, ed. Lindsay Patterson (New York:
Dodd, 1971) 221-76.
ARTICLE FROM JOURNAL
(continuous paging in volume)
5 Karen Spear, "Building Cognitive Skills in Basic
Writers," Teaching English in the Two Year
College 9 (1983): 91-98.
ARTICLE FROM JOURNAL (each
issue paged separately)
6 Patricia Monk, "Frankenstein's Daughters: The Problems
of the Feminine Image in Science
Fiction," Mosaic 13.3-4 (1980): 15-27.
ARTICLE FROM NEWSPAPER
7 Damon Dalin, "A $7 Greeting Card? Yes, But Listen To The
Melody It Will Play For You," Wall
Street Journal 10 May 1983, eastern ed.: 37.
REFERENCE BOOK ARTICLE -
UNSIGNED
8 "Graham, Martha." Who's Who of American Women,
13th ed. 1983-84.: 43-44.
REFERENCE BOOK ARTICLE -
SIGNED
9 Luciano Chiappini, "Este, House of." Encyclopedia
Britannica: Macropaedia, 1974 ed.: 27-29.
WORLD WIDE WEB BASED RESOURCE
10 H. Churchyard “Pride and Prejudice—Notes on Education,
Marriage, Status of Women, etc.” Jane
Austen Information Page 1994-95. Online. Internet. 28 May 1995.
Available HTTP: uts.cc.utexas.edu/~churchh/pptopic2.html
Endnotes are another way of
identifying sources used within your work. Just place a number within your
text near the place where you refer or quote another's work. Start with
the number 1 and proceed (2,3,...) as far as needed.
All notes should appear at the
end of the scholarly work (endnotes); start them on a new page; center and
title the page "Notes"; number all notes pages in sequence with
the text. Each note citation is indented five spaces from the left margin;
precede each entry with the note number typed slightly above the line;
leave a space between the number and the entry.
When citing the same work more
than once, a shortened form is used after a full entry has been given. The
shortened version is brief and clear -- enough to identify the work. The
author's last name followed by the relevant page numbers is usually
adequate. (i.e. 4 Frye 345-47.)
When citing two or more works
by the same author -- for example, Northrop Frye's Anatomy of Criticism as
well as his Critical Path - use a shortened version of the title
should follow the author's last name in references after the first. (i.e.
9 Frye, Anatomy 278. 10 Frye, Critical 1-10.) The information is repeated
even when two notes in sequence refer to the same work. The abbreviations
"ibid." and "op. cit." are no longer used.
* These citations are examples
of only the most commonly used resources. For citation examples of other
kinds of source materials or more specific information refer to MLA
Handbook for Writers of Research papers.
Revised 3/03 |